Faculty of Social Sciences and Technology (FSST)

Executive Dean


Prof. P. M. Matu

The Technical University of Kenya has a long-standing reputation in offering technical courses, which form the backbone of a skill-based economy. The Faculty of Social Sciences and Technology is designed as an organ of the University where competitive knowledge and skills are developed in the liberal, business, hospitality and creative disciplines. This Faculty has designed academic programmes that provide the human perspective of science. The Society aspect of this academic unit is to provide the much-needed bridge between applied sciences and engineering sciences, even with the liberal and vocational standpoint of these programmes, The Technical University of Kenya strongly believes in the practical approach to teaching and learning, hence the incorporation of full-scale technology into all the curricula. Focusing on capacity for the nation’s industry, learners are prepared for service, with discipline-related technological knowledge and skills. The Faculty comprises five Schools, namely: Business and Management Studies; Creative Arts and Technologies, Hospitality and Tourism Studies, Information and Communication Studies and Social and Development Studies. The Centre for Creative and Cultural Industries in the Faculty provides scope for close ties with and contribution to the creative economy

Download the Faculty Brochure

Directors of Schools and Centres in the Faculty of Social Sciences and Technology


http://ssts.tukenya.ac.ke/images/article-images/Prof-Matu..jpgDr. Benson Ateng



  • Design and Creative Media Technology
  • Fashion and Textiles
  • Department of Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Music and Performing Arts
  • Printing and Media Technology
  • Tourism and Travel Management
  • Hotel and Restaurant Management
  • Event and Convention Management
  • Institutional Catering and Accommodation
  • Languages and Communication Studies
  • Information & Knowledge Management
  • Journalism & Media Studies
  • Criminology and Legal Studies
  • Economics and Resource Management
  • Governance and Public Policy
  • Human and Social Development
  • Accounting and Finance
  • Business Administration & Management
  • Management Science and Technology
  • Entrepreneurship Technology & Management
  • Industrial & Fine Arts
  • Performing Arts & Culture
  • Media & Creative Communications
  • Multimedia Arts & Technologies


Creative Arts and Technologies Hospitality and Tourism Management Information and Communication Studies School of Social and Development Studies Business and Management Studies Centre for Creative and Cultural Industries (CCCI)