

THE TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY OF KENYA

Haile Selassie Avenue, P. O. Box 52428, Nairobi, 00200, Tel: +254(020)3343672, 2219929, 0732388765 www.tukenya.ac.ke; Email: dean.students@tukenya.ac.ke

Office of the Dean of Students NOTICE

FROM: Chairperson, SATUK 2025/2026 Electoral Board

TO: All SATUK 2025/2026 Aspirants

REF: TUK/DVC-ASA/DoS/SATUK 2025/2026 ELECTIONS/VOL 1

DATE: 8th April, 2025

SUBJECT: <u>SATUK 2025/2026 ELECTIONS SCHEDULE, DECLARATION</u> OF VACANCY AND APPLICATION PROCESS

Pursuant to the approval by the University Management Board (UMB), the SATUK 2025/2026 Elections are scheduled as follows:

1. Dates and Time:

The Elections shall be held on Monday 28th April, 2025 for the delegates and Tuesday 29th April, 2025 for the Collegiate from 6:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. each day.

2. Declaration of Vacant Positions A. SATUK BOARD:

- i. Academic Departments: Three (3) delegates from each of the 18 academic departments (to elect the SATUK Council)
- ii. **Faculty Representatives:** Two representatives (one male and one female) from each of the three faculties
- iii. **Hostel Representatives:** Two representatives (one from ladies' hostel and one from men's hostel)

- iv. International Students: One representative
- v. Persons with Disability: One representative
- **B. SATUK COUNCIL**
- i. Chairperson
- ii. Vice-Chairperson
- iii. Secretary-General
- iv. Finance Secretary
- v. Academic Secretary
- vi. Sports, Entertainment and Culture Secretary
- vii. Gender and Social Welfare Secretary

Any bona fide member of SATUK wishing to serve in any of these positions is invited to apply for nomination.

3. Nomination of Candidates

- i. **Availability of Nomination Forms:** Forms will be available on the Students Portal from Friday, 11th April 2025.
- ii. **Deadline for Council and SATUK Board Aspirants:** Nomination forms must be submitted by Thursday, 17th April 2025, at 3:00 p.m. at D2.
- Departmental Delegate Nominations: Each department is to submit a maximum list of six (6) candidates (three male and three female) by Tuesday, 22nd April 2025 (mid-day) to enable early ballot paper preparation.

4. Eligibility Criteria

A candidate is eligible for election to the Council if they:

- i. Are a bona fide student at TU-K.
- ii. Have at least two (2) taught semesters remaining with a minimum of 14 course units; or have completed at least two taught semesters with a full load totaling at least 14 course units.
- iii. Belong to the interest group they represent (e.g., the relevant Faculty, International Students, Hostel, or Persons with Disability).
- iv. Have passed the University examinations for the immediate previous academic year.
- v. Are a paid-up member of SATUK.

5. Ineligibility

Members are not eligible to contest for any SATUK electoral posts if they:

- i. Have been convicted of a criminal offence by a court of law.
- ii. Were admitted to TU-K on transfer from another university without having attended at least two (2) taught semesters.

- iii. Have been subjected to disciplinary sanctions for violating the student code of conduct and have not been cleared by University Management.
- iv. Are transitioning between Diploma and degree programmes in their first year of study.

6. Application Process

- i. **Submission:** All applications must be submitted online via the TU-K Students Portal.
- ii. **Photo Requirement:** Each candidate must attach a current official passport photo for use on the ballot paper.
- iii. **Compliance:** Applicants must meet the requirements outlined in Sections 2, 3, and 4, and comply with any additional criteria set by the departmental vetting team.

7. Election Rules and Procedures

- i. **Voting Hours:** Voting will commence at 6:00 a.m. and conclude at 3:00 p.m. on 28th April 2025.
- ii. **Voter Verification:** Voters must present a valid Student Identity Card for verification against the nominal roll.
- iii. **Ballot Papers:** Each voter will receive one ballot paper per vacant position, featuring the names and pictures of the candidates; each voter may cast one vote per position.
- iv. **Vote Counting:** Results will be tallied and ranked in descending order. For positions requiring gender balance, if the top two candidates are of the same gender, the highest-ranked candidate of the opposite gender will be selected.
- v. **Faculty Representatives:** The highest vote-getter among the male and female candidates will be declared the winner for each faculty.
- vi. **Result Announcement:** The Presiding Officer will present the results to the Returning Officer, and the Electoral Board will announce and publish the results immediately after tallying.
- vii. **Governing Rules:** All election processes shall adhere to the SATUK Constitution 2018 (Revised 2024).

Please take note to the deadlines and ensure your participation in exercising your suffrage rights.

LN.

Dr. Sylvester Hayker (Ph.D), Returning Officer/Chairman Electoral Board, SATUK 2025/2026 Electoral Board.