VC Commends Research Efforts, Awards Certificates

The Vice Chancellor Prof. Paul Shiundu has assured researchers at the university of his full support to ensure TU-K achieves its mandate in research. The Ag.VC said the university is working towards excellence in matters research citing indicators that have placed TU-K among top-rated universities in Kenya. This includes the July Webometrics Rankings that placed TU-K at position eight in kenya overall.

Prof. Shiundu was speaking when he awarded certificates to members of the newly established TU-K Institutional Ethics Review Committee (IERC) who just completed training at Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI). The committee is mandated to review research proposals and post approval monitoring within local and international policy and regulatory frameworks.

Prof. Shiundu underscored challenges that hold back research efforts among them; management of research and financial constraints implementation of research activities as well as proposal writing for funding.   “As an institution, we must create good environment for researchers and I will ensure this comes to life. This is because there are things that I do not wish to see done same way they were done in the past, so that we remove all the barriers that researchers encounter,” Prof. Shiundu noted.

He added that the TU-K IERC team should borrow best practices to ensure best management of research in areas of finance appropriation and ensure it trickles down to executions. While recognizing diversity of the university ethics committee, Prof. Alfred Orina, DVC, Research and Technology Development who was present during the award ceremony challenged the team to move a step up from the current university standings.

“TU-K is ranked top among the youngest universities in Kenya, as a newly established committee we need to open avenues for collaborations and expertise exchange to handle task ahead,” Prof. Orina noted. Committee Chairman Prof. Dorington Okeyo Ogoyi at the same time called on the university to set up a dedicated secretariat to ensure efficiency of the committee.

Members of the committee include;  

  1. Dorington Okeyo Ogoyi (Chairman)
  2. Elizabeth Ajema Chebichi Luvai
  3. John Nyiro Mwero
  4. Evans Vidija Sagwa
  5. Okoko Argwings Kodhek
  6. Lucy Mudiwo Ombaka
  7. Isaac Mokaya Omwenga
  8. Melissa Wangui Wanjiru
  9. Gladys Akelo Otieno
  10. Jillani Ngalla (Institute of Primate Studies)
  11. John Geoffrey Ng'ang'a
  12. Jane Atieno Owino Bukachi
  13. George Muriithi Ndeng'era
  14. Benard Nashon Otieno (Secretariat)
  15. Isaac Maina (Secretariat)

View event photos


2nd Workshop on Eco-Tanning Processes in Kenya and the East African Region

Fri, 17. November 2023
The Technical University of Kenya (TUK) in collaboration with State Department for Livestock Development (SDL), Tanners Association of Kenya (TAK) and United Nations Conference on …


Tue, 31. October 2023
The Technical University of Kenya wishes to inform all students who qualify for the conferment of various degrees and award of diplomas at the 1end of 2022/2023 academic year, and …

SATUK Constitutional Review Process

Thu, 26. October 2023
Further to our previous communication to the Student Fraternity dated Thursday 19th October, 2023 regarding the Review of SATUK Constitution, we would like to provide the following…

SATUK Elections 2023/2024

Thu, 19. October 2023
Following communication from the Office of the Dean of Students dated earlier today Thursday 19th October, 2023, regarding the risk of possible disenfranchisement of the students' …

Academic Calendar

The Technical University of Kenya during its Senate meeting on 26th June, 2023 resolved to revert back to the Semester System in the 2023/2024 Academic Year.

2023/2024 Academic Calendar